Technology

You’re still here

A Facebook glitch told some users they were dead, briefly, on Friday afternoon

The election didn’t actually kill you, Facebook just thinks it did

A number of its users might certainly wish they were dead after this week, but Facebook accidentally took it a step further. Late Friday afternoon many Facebook users had the rare privilege of attending their own memorial, so to speak, when the social media giant unleashed its legacy profile feature.

In promoting its memorial feature, meant to celebrate the profiles of people who have passed away, the social network accidentally posted a banner at the top of many active user profiles saying that “We hope people who love [user] will find comfort in the things others share to remember and celebrate his life.”

Of course, Facebook didn’t actually kill anyone off, and by 4 p.m. the issue appeared to be resolved, and users were once again digitally present. 

Update, 5:22 p.m.: A representative from Facebook said the issue had been resolved, and that all user profiles were back to normal. “For a brief period today, a message meant for memorialized profiles was mistakenly posted to other accounts. This was a terrible error that we have now fixed. We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it.”

Cover: Screengrab via Facebook

M-F 7:30PM HBO